Virat Kohli is ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year

In a glittering ceremony in Colombo, Virat Kohli of India was chosen as the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year. Kohli who had a prolific run with the bat in the past 12 months and the review period under consideration for these prestigious ICC Awards pipped the other nominees including fellow team mate and captain M.S. Dhoni. Other contenders to the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year were Lasith Malinga and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka.

ICC Cricketer of the Year

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara was selected as the ICC Cricketer of the Year.

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year

Sangakkara scored big as he not just won the ICC Cricketer of the Year, but also the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year Award. The Sri Lanka captain was also a nominee in the ODI Cricketer of the Year awards. Besides these two¬†prestigious¬†awards, the Lanka skipper was also won the People’s Choice Prize, an award that he bagged the previous year as well.

Sangakkara scored 1444 runs in 14 tests at an average of over 60 during the review period. Besides, he scored 1457 runs in 37 one day matches during the same period. In all he compiled 8 centuries during this time, including 5 test hundreds.

Virat Kohli, who won the ICC ODI Player of the Year award played 31 ODI matches and scored 1733 runs at an astounding average of 66.65 runs. He also scored 8 centuries in one day games alone, and would have posed a tougher challenger to Sangakkara had he played more test matches.


Head to our cricket section for the latest cricket news and stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.