PFA Player of the Year Award: Suarez, Carrick, Mata, Bale, Van Persie & Hazard Shortlisted

[ad#m1] The Professional Footballers’ Association has shortlisted the candidates for the annual Player of the Year award. The 2013 list consists of Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Eden Hazard (Chelsea) and Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur).

Robin van Persie won the same award last year and it was Tottenham’s Gareth Bale who had won it prior to that. The winner is decided by voting and the only people who are allowed to vote are the members of the association i.e. the players themselves. A member can cast two votes and no player is allowed to vote for players of their own club.

If Van Persie wins it again for the second time, he will join an elite list consisting of players such as  Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo, who have all won the award twice.

Here are some statistics and things which support each of the nominations

# Luis Suarez – Appearances: 32, Minutes played: 2,865 Goals: 22, Shooting accuracy: 49%, Chance conversion: 16%. Add 279 dribbles, 4 assists, 181 shots to that list too.

# Juan Mata also has a very strong case as he is the only player with 10+ goals, 10+ assists, and 75+ chances created.

# Michael Carrick has completed the most forward passes (917) in Europe’s top 5 leagues this season

# Robin van Persie has scored a goal every 127 minutes and his goals have provided 23 points for Man Utd this season which is more than any other player in the Premier League.

# Eden Hazard – Appearances: 30, Minutes played: 2,306, Goals: 8, Total shots: 40, Shooting accuracy: 60%, Shots-to-goal ratio: 20%

# Gareth Bale – Appearances: 27, Minutes played: 2,384, Goals: 17, Total shots: 108, Shooting accuracy: 55%, Shots-to-goal ratio: 16%

Just like every year, there are a number of football fans who don’t agree with the list or at least not entirely.

The list of players which should have been shortlisted according to Twitter: Santi Cazorla, Michu, Leighton Baines, Pablo Zabaleta, Rafael. Their were also some people who wanted Dimitar Berbatov on the list.

2013 PFA Young Player of the Year shortlist: Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur), Christian Benteke (Aston Villa), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea player on loan at West Bromwich Albion), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United) & Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

The last time we checked Suarez was leading the polls in various websites by quite a margin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.