Arsenal midfielder Granit Xhaka was chosen by his team-mates to be the club’s new captain.

Head coach Unai Emery held a blind vote among his squad to decide on his new skipper, with Xhaka winning the vote having worn the armband in six of the first eight games of the campaign.

Emery had a leadership group of five players last year but three of those – Laurent Koscielny, Petr Cech and Aaron Ramsey – departed over the course of the summer.

The Spaniard revealed that, for this season, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Hector Bellerin, Alexandre Lacazette and Mesut Ozil will be his other captains, in order, should Xhaka not play.

Xhaka, who turned 27 on Friday, finds himself in special company as the Swiss joined 8 other footballers – including Messi – who are captain for 1st division European sides and top 100 national teams –

1. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid & Spain)

2. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur and France)

3. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

4. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus and Italy)

5. Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich and Germany)

6. Andreas Granqvist (Helsingborgs IF and Sweden)

7. Seamus Coleman (Everton and Republic of Ireland)

8. Emre Belozoglu (Fenerbahce and Turkey)

9. Granit Xhaka (Arsenal and Switzerland)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best News.

You May Also Like

‘Matchday’ clip shows two Barcelona stars admitting they always pick Liverpool on FIFA

To say that Liverpool have been in fine form this season would…

Football fans loved this cool new feature while watching Man City v Burnley on Amazon Prime

Technology is constantly evolving the way we go about our lives and…

New badge looks glorious as Chelsea release trailer for a possible new 4th kit

Chelsea seem to have decided to pull out all the stops as…

Stunning free kick meets a sublime save in Germany 3rd division fixture

Spectacular free-kicks have always managed to get fans out of their seats…