Skip to Content

Premier League Stats: What We Can Learn From Recent Champions

Premier League Stats: What We Can Learn From Recent Champions

The 2023/24 Premier League season is already underway, with many usual suspects racing into the prominent positions.

What does winning a Premier League gong take, and which pointers can be taken from previous winners?

Does it pay to stick with Manchester City as they target four in a row, or is it worth following the latest Manchester United betting odds that suggest the Red Devils are on their way back?

The best and most popular way to predict the next Premier League champion is to delve into the trends. Which teams have won recent EPL gongs, and is there a pattern?

Keep reading as we bring you the most recent champions of English soccer, including Man City’s dominance and a Chelsea fightback that seems about ready for a repeat performance.

2021-22: Manchester City

The 2021-22 season saw Manchester City again ascend to English soccer’s pinnacle. Under the guidance of Pep Guardiola, the Citizens secured their fourth Premier League title of the decade. With a combination of world-class talent and tactical brilliance, Manchester City demonstrated their dominance.

Key Factors

Consistency: Manchester City displayed unwavering consistency throughout the campaign, rarely dropping points and maintaining a high level of performance.

Tactical Brilliance: Pep Guardiola’s tactical acumen shone through as he made astute decisions in crucial matches.

Squad Depth: The depth of City’s squad allowed them to rotate players and maintain freshness during a grueling season.

2020-21: Manchester City

The COVID-19 pandemic cast shadows over the 2020-21 season, but Manchester City emerged as champions, showcasing their adaptability and resilience. Despite a slow start to the season, they rebounded impressively, exemplifying their ability to overcome challenges.

Key Factors

Adaptability: Manchester City adjusted to the unique challenges posed by the pandemic, such as empty stadiums, fixture congestion, and player health concerns.

Strong Defense: A resolute defense provided a solid foundation for their success, conceding the fewest goals in the league.

Pep Guardiola’s Influence: Guardiola’s leadership and ability to motivate his squad were instrumental in turning their season around.

2019-20: Liverpool

Liverpool’s 2019-20 season marked a historic moment as they clinched their first Premier League title in 30 years. Jurgen Klopp’s charismatic leadership and a formidable squad saw the Reds play electrifying soccer, dominating the league.

Key Factors

Front Three: The attacking trio of Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, and Roberto Firmino wreaked havoc on opposition defenses, collectively scoring over 50 goals.

Solid Defense: Liverpool boasted one of the best defenses in the league, with Virgil van Dijk leading the way.

Klopp’s Leadership: Jurgen Klopp’s infectious enthusiasm and ability to forge a strong team spirit were pivotal to Liverpool’s success.

2018-19: Manchester City

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City clinched the title in the 2018-19 season, engaging in a thrilling race with Liverpool. Their attacking prowess and remarkable squad depth propelled them to the championship by just a single point.

Key Factors

Offensive Firepower: Manchester City’s attacking trio of Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling, and Leroy Sane produced 57 league goals.

Squad Depth: The depth of City’s squad allowed them to cope with injuries and suspensions effectively.

Crucial Wins: City secured important victories against direct rivals in tight matches, ultimately proving decisive in the title race.

2017-18: Manchester City

The 2017-18 season began Manchester City’s era of dominance under Pep Guardiola. They secured the title with an unprecedented 100 points, setting several records for goals scored and points earned. This campaign showcased their attacking brilliance and the evolution of Guardiola’s tactical philosophy.

Key Factors

Centurions: Manchester City became the first team in Premier League history to reach 100 points in a single season.

Goal-Scoring Extravaganza: The team scored an astonishing 106 goals, with contributions from all squad areas.

Tactical Evolution: Guardiola’s tactical adaptation and emphasis on possession soccer were vital to their success.

2016-17: Chelsea

Under the management of Antonio Conte, Chelsea bounced back from a disappointing campaign to win the title in the 2016-17 season. The Blues displayed a well-organized defense and the attacking brilliance of players like Eden Hazard. Conte’s tactical prowess and ability to instill discipline within the squad were pivotal.

Key Factors

Tactical Discipline: Conte implemented a robust 3-4-3 formation, which provided defensive stability while allowing Hazard and others to shine in attack.

Consistency: Chelsea displayed remarkable character, building a 13-match winning streak during the season.

Resilience: The team returned from setbacks and focused on the title race.

2015-16: Leicester City

One of the most astonishing stories in soccer history unfolded during the 2015-16 season. Led by Claudio Ranieri, Leicester City defied all odds to claim their first-ever Premier League title. This “fairytale” journey captivated the world, showcasing the magic of the beautiful game.

Key Factors

Collective Effort: Leicester’s success was built on teamwork and the contributions of unsung heroes like N’Golo Kanté and Riyad Mahrez.

Solid Defense: The team’s defense, anchored by Wes Morgan and Robert Huth, proved resilient against top-flight opposition.

Fearlessness: Leicester played with a fearless spirit, taking on giants and emerging victorious in crucial matches.

2014-15: Chelsea

Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea stormed to the 2014-15 season title. The Blues combined a solid defense with a counter-attacking style of play that proved too difficult for opponents to overcome.

Key Factors

Strong Defense: Chelsea boasted the best defensive record in the league, conceding just 32 goals.

Counter-Attacking Prowess: The team capitalized on quick transitions to score goals and win matches.

Mourinho’s Management: Jose Mourinho’s tactical understanding and ability to grind out results were central to Chelsea’s success. He wasn’t labeled ‘the Special One’ for nothing.

2013-14: Manchester City

Manchester City clinched their second Premier League title in three years under the management of Manuel Pellegrini. They finished the season with 102 goals, displaying an attacking brand of soccer that left fans in awe.

Key Factors

Free-Scoring Attack: Manchester City’s attacking unit, featuring Sergio Aguero and Yaya Toure, was unstoppable, scoring over 100 goals.

Home Dominance: The Etihad Stadium became a fortress, with City winning 17 of their 19 home matches.

Effective Squad Rotation: Pellegrini managed his squad effectively, rotating players to maintain peak performance.